Weeks 14-16/2023

Easter weekend is a long one in Switzerland: four days, including the weekend. Normally, we go somewhere, but this year we were so deep in our daily routine that we actually didn’t realise until the week before that Easter was just around the corner! We stuck around, and tried to be tranquille. I didn’t cook a special Easter meal, we ate leftovers and picnic food. But we did organise an egg hunt with friends and their kids, and we joined another egg hunt in the mountain.

We had some fun, especially O. with her little friends.

We had a whiff of Spring, with warm days and sunshine. I showed O how to make daisy necklaces and we took some pictures to send to the family. I still take pictures compulsively with my phone, but I’ve also been using my camera more.

We spent time at home, putting up shelves, putting away stuff. It’s been six months since we moved and there are still boxes to unpack.

This fascination for technology. It has always been a topic of discussion our home, mainly driven by grandpa’s scientific interests. Technology is pervasive and our kids’ fascination is undeniable. But how do we make it a tool for growth and creativity? It’s really not a straightforward answer, and my father recently shared this report that I plan to read attentively. But I really believe that one of the most simple keys is to be present and accompany the kids when they engage with digital tools. For now, the main interest around here is recognizing and copying letters, both on a keyboard and with a pen.

Some days alone at work. Listening to music, doing some planning, eating by myself in the sun. At a period of life when silent moments are rare, days like this are very much appreciated.

We went to some friends’ house and O spotted a play cash register that she wanted for herself. She asked me to buy it for her. Of course, we don’t buy toys just because, but as she was asking so vehemently, we took the opportunity to discuss what money is all about. So, we went to the shop, picked out a cash register that she liked, found out the price, and drew it out in a way she would understand. Now, each week she gets 1 or 2CHF, she colours in the money she already has, and has a visual representation of what she still needs to buy her till. This is not only about money, it is about the value of things, about being patient… you know. All that.

With baby A eating more elaborate meals and in larger quantity, planning and cooking two meals every day, on top of all the rest, is really not my favourite part of being a parent. And I love thinking about food and cooking! Imagine if I didn’t. On some days, she gets stuck with her baby purĂ©es that I batch make and freeze, or with shop-bought meals. I do what I can to survive. On other days, I try to make stuff that all the family can eat. Like fluffy banana and oat pancakes (huge success!), or vegetable quiche with feta for the family, but putting a bit of vegetables and salt-free filling to the side to bake in a small oven proof dish. Also, a big success.

And speaking of cooking for the family, I could have written this piece:

The secret is that I don’t care, and I don’t give in to their idiosyncrasies. (…) What I do care about is being together at the end of day, exposing my kids to new ingredients and recipes and ideas, and preserving my sanity and love for a task that can feel relentless in the best of times and unforgiving in the worst.

A celebrated 9 months of life, and true to tradition we baked a cake to celebrate. A chiffon cake with crème patissière and fruit in the middle (delicious ripe strawberries from France!). It was good, but I need to perfect this sponge cake and fruit recipe, it wasn’t exactly what I was dreaming of. But I love that I have a little helper now!

My little helper likes to listen to music while going to sleep. These past weeks, she tells us to leave her room and leave her tranquila (like a teenager!) while she listens to MĂŁo Verde II (this is her favourite song). Her attitude makes us smile.

We still very much wore our winter coats and scarves these weeks, but we did get a glimpse of warmer days and we are eager for them to really set in so we can all be comfortable outdoors without having to spend half an hour to dress up everyone before leaving!

Leave a comment